Song n. 6: Degrees of Shade

“Degrees of Shade” was born in the acoustic guitar, like most of our songs are. But unlike them, this one will remain acoustic, which makes it our first ever acoustic song (even though I did record an electric guitar version, and it’s funny how it simply doesn’t fit). I don’t see us playing it live, since the spirit of Indiscipline is metal and I like my guitar as heavy as it gets. But never say never.

Also, “Degrees of Shade” means freedom. We didn’t know what we wanted to be the chorus, or verses, or bridges. It simply happened. I admit I thought one special part of the song would turn out to be the chorus, just because we all go to a safe place, but then…it didn’t. And it surprised me, in a really good way.

To me, this here is like Johnny Cash meets…darkness. But a darkness that can still see the sun after all. Weirdly enough, but I trust you’ll get what I say. And this is what this song is really about. Life can be fucked up, but hey, sometimes you get to see a light by the end of the tunnel. Coincidentally or not, “Degrees of Shade” was created when the day was rainy, but the sun shone. So…never lose hope. And we try NOT to say that in a cheap self-help book way.

Edit: my friend Marcos Cunha said “Degrees of Shade” had something of Alice in Chains in it. I had to agree and I loved the comparison so much I just had to put it here! hahaha. It does have something of Alice in Chains in it. 🙂

Writing lyrics for “Degrees of Shade”. Many attempts to get to an “acceptable” point, hahaa.

Leave a Reply

